The Llano Estacado Regional Water Planning Area (Region O) includes 21 counties in the Southern High Plains of Texas.  There are a total of 66 municipalities in Region O with the largest cities being Brownfield, Hereford, Lamesa, Levelland, Lubbock, and Plainview.

Counties in the region include:  Bailey, Briscoe, Castro, Cochran, Crosby, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Floyd, Gaines, Garza, Hale, Hockley, Lamb, Lubbock, Lynn, Motley, Parmer, Swisher, Terry, and Yoakum.

RWPG Purpose:
The Llano Estacado Regional Water Planning Group (LERWPG) is tasked with developing and adopting a regional water plan in accordance with Senate Bill 1 and Senate Bill 2 as passed by the Texas Legislature.
The group's mission statement is to "develop, promote, and implement water conservation, augmentation, and management strategies to provide adequate water supplies for the Llano Estacado Regional Water Planning Area and to stabilize or improve the economic and social viability and longevity of the region through these activities.”

The South Plains Association of Governments is the political subdivision for the 5th planning cycle (2017-2021) and will be responsible for all administrative duties associated with that function. This will be accomplished utilizing the allocation of water planning dues noted in Table 2.

Regional Water Planning Group Members:
The regional plan for the Llano Estacado Regional Water Planning Area is being revised and updated by a 22-member volunteer group representing water use categories within the region. This group was appointed by the Texas Water Development Board from nominations by area citizens. The regional planning group voting membership is currently limited to 25 persons. In addition to the voting members, there are five non-voting members, including the Texas Water Development Board project manager, the regional water planning group's technical consultant, and representatives from Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, Texas Department of Agriculture, and the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, as required by TWDB regional water planning rules.

Members of the Llano Estacado Regional Water Planning Group's Executive Committee:

Chairman Aubrey A Spear
Vice Chairman Mark Kirkpatrick
Secretary-Treasurer Doug Hutcheson

For a full membership list, click here.

Region O Regional Water Planning Group
General SPAG Information:
The South Plains Association of Governments is one of 24 ‘Councils of Governments’ in the State of Texas and is a voluntary association created by the local governments within state planning region two. SPAG is an independent political subdivision of the state and is an instrument of local governments. The SPAG region covers 15 of the 21 counties that make up Region O. In addition to housing the Regional 9-1-1 program, Area Agency on Agency, Economic Development, 2-1-1 Texas South Plains and local Law Enforcement Training Academy, SPAG also includes the Regional Services Department. This department which will provide the administrative support for the Region O Water Planning Group already provides a variety of services to local governments in the region including Criminal Justice Planning, Solid Waste Planning, Homeland Security, Community Development, Census data and research, Transportation and coordinates Region 3 Quarterly Texas Municipal League Meetings.

Additional Resources: